53/365 – Becoming Friends with Ex After Break Up

Someone told me, “being friends with your ex will actually help you move on.” 

I wondered and considered every reason there is before concluding a response. 

My ex kept on pursuing to be friends with me some days after we broke up like nothing happened. It kinda felt overwhelming but I didn’t want it to continue any further. I brushed him off the second time he invited me to join him in a friendly date because it made no sense at all. Here are the definite reasons why: 

1. He hurt me once and he will definitely hurt me again. He had the guts to leave me despite everything I and my family did for him, so why take the chance of giving him the honor to do it the second time around? 

2. He had me at my very best and he chose to still break me apart. Yep, he had me at my glorious moments and I always strived to give him the best of me. Why would 

3. He lied. He told me so many excuses and reasons why he wanted leave yet I already knew and felt the true reason behind. I don’t want to go through the deep path of recovering myself from blaming and discriminating myself of why we broke up – yet it wasn’t really because of me; he made me think it was because of me by telling me this and that reason. I wish he just told me the truth. 

3. He broke my heart. Why would I want to go through that again? 

So, my response is: Nah, it will just make things complicated for the both of you. 

Maybe it can work when you two have overcome the pains of your break-up, or have genuinely moved on – take up a year or two before you can be friends with each other without any hard feelings at all. This I know, I have atleast 3 Exes I talk to again. It took some years though before we became friends again. 

So yeah. Just don’t && tell your ex to just stay the fries off. 

Leave a Reply

