Freshie Adventures 1: Accenture Recruitment Process Insights

After graduation, all of us are expected to be applying to different companies whether online or old school style of walking-in, participating to interviews, and finally landing on that first job. My parents gave me pressure everyday just to force me to find a job. They didn’t support my luho anymore. Maybe they actually planned to make me feel broke so I would get on my feet to apply for jobs – well, they did it alright!

So, there I was – from fresh graduate to unemployed to job seeker real quick!

Accenture, Inc.

My first interview was with this company. They texted me for a recruitment process for the position Associate Software Engineer (ASE) which is clearly for the IT-grads so I asked for an open position for Business Administration-grads and they told me to apply for Project Management Officer (PMO) instead. Their recruitment hub is in 3rd Flr, Robinsons Forum Mall, Pioneer St., corner EDSA. If you’re coming from Cavite, you just have to take the bus going to Cubao or Ortigas then it will take you directly to one of Robinson’s Forum entrances.

Accenture is a big company and they hire in volumes so you should expect their recruitment hub to be always full of applicants. Also, expect that it may take a day or two to be done with – it took 3 days for me!

Their recruitment process consists of 4 parts:

  • Registration
  • Online Examination
  • Language Assessment (for Info tech office positions), and
  • HR Interview

In my experience, I was scheduled at 11am for the recruitment process which I thought was already the HR Interview but it wasn’t. I was there at 10:30am because everyone advices everyone to be there at least 30 minutes before the appointment.

Here’s what happened:

Day 1

12:30pm

It took me 1hour and 30 minutes just to get the security ID. The place was full of applicants, as expected so it took some time just to get the ID.

After getting the ID, that’s when I was allowed to go to the reception area for my application to be processed. I was asked to wait there for my name to be called for me to register on their system so as to record my scores in the exams.

3:00pm

My name was called to register in their systems which I thought was already the online examinations. Nah, it was just pure personal information like I was inputting the information that was already on my CV.

4:00pm

I was told that my online examinations would be at 5pm and was asked to just get back before the time. Since I was going alone home – my first time to go alone from Pioneer going back to Cavite, I decided to just reschedule my examinations the next day. Also, I felt like my brain wasn’t functioning very well for the tough waiting, severe starvation, and exhaustion so it’s best for me to take it the next day.

I overheard someone scheduled for 8pm interview. Poor kid.

Day 2

9:00am

I went there as early as I can so I could finish the whole process that day. Also, I’m a morning person so I was very confident I could ace the online examination on that condition. I was hoping to get to the company so I prepared as much as I could.

Yep, same drill – getting the security ID.  It was still early so there were few applicants in the hub so I was able to get my security ID with ease.

9:10am

I approached the reception area and told them that I was rescheduled for the online examinations that day and my name was called after 10 minutes.

It took me 2 hours to finish the test. The test consisted of reading, business writing, and basic MS Excel drills.

Every question is timed and you cannot go back to change your answer so better think quick and use your time well.

1:00pm

Name was called and the recruitment officer told me that I passed the test and I would just be scheduled for the HR Interview. Sigh, and I thought I would finish the whole process that day.

They texted me at 6pm that day for my HR Interview schedule – which was the day after. Yep, I know. I wish they would’ve just told me then back at the hub. Well, it would be the last step anyway!

Day 3

12:00pm

I was scheduled at 2pm and I arrived this early because there was nothing to do and nowhere to go so I decided to just stay there and hoped that it would be done earlier.

3:00pm

Finally, my name was called!

These were the questions that I was asked:

  1. Tell us something about yourself
  2. Why did you choose to study [your course]?
  3. Tell me something about your internship
  4. Why do you want to work at Accenture?
  5. What do you know about Accenture?
  6. Do you know anyone who works for Accenture?
  7. What are your strengths?
  8. What are your weaknesses?
  9. How much salary do you expect?
  10. What is your minimum/maximum salary?
  11. Are you willing to work in Cubao or Eastwood?
  12. Would you like to ask us anything?

For the last question, I asked about the shifting hours, the job description, salary and benefits, if it was possible to be assigned in BGC or Mckinley only because I would be coming from Cavite and it would be too hard for me to travel, and also if she had questions about my CV.

 

PS. I didn’t get the job in Accenture because there was no slot in BGC or Mckinley. It’s fine, it just means that there is a better plan for me. 😉 If you undergone the recruitment process in Accenture, tell me your story! For those who are planning to apply in Accenture, hope this helps and you get the job!

Leave a Reply

